A programme of club swim teaching

The programme I’ll be following for the next three months. A simple check sheet for the groups I teach each week. I see between 60 and 80 kids a week, most of these in our teaching groups. Typically age 9-12, a few a little younger. We have groups 1 to 8. Grous 1-3 can swim … they can do a 25m length. These are our beginner groups. Typically I take from Grade 4 upwards, including some who have gone through to our ‘training groups’ – these are club members who want to keep swimming, but haven’t made the grade to join a competitive squad.

Teaching lessons are 30 minutes for groups 1-3, 45 minutes for groups 4-8 and an hour for training groups.

April 13th-July 20th 2015

 

Date wc

Stroke/Activity

Contrasting Activity

Notes

Mon 13th April

Frontcrawl FC Turns
Mon 20th April Backcrawl BC Turns Stroke Count to flags.

All B/C finishes remain on back

Mon 27th  April

Breaststroke BR Transition

Start/Turn

Mon 4th May Starts & Turns

(Prepare  for Dev galas)

Comp Start sheets

Mon 11th May

Butterfly Diving Dev gala 1

Tues 12th Grades 1-4

Sat 16th Grades 5-8

Mon 18th  May

Breast-stroke BRS Transition
Mon 25th  May Butterfly Fly Turns

Mon 1st June

Backstroke B/C Turns
Mon 8th June Frontcrawl Starts

Mon 15th June

Individual Medley IM turns/finishes

Mon 22nd June

Assessments Intro/use of pace clock
Mon 29th  June Starts & Turns Prep for Dev gala
Mon 6th July Breast-stroke BRS Transition Dev gala 2

Tues 7th Grades 1-4

Sat 11th Grades 5-8

Mon 13th July Revision/Teachers choice
Mon 20th July Relays

A guide for swimming teachers

The aim is to put in one place a broad choice of lesson plans, with assessments. These will cover all 10 grades (1 to Mini squad) covered by our swimming club. It will include sessions themed by  competitive strokes with progressions into dives & turns as well as some other aquatic skills such as sculling & treading water. Session plans will also be shared for our training groups.